Fancy Pants tutorial

DSCF8816

Looking for ideas for cute spring bottoms for my little one, I stumbled across long winter denim pants at Target for an unbeatable clearance price.  If you have read any of my blogs, you know I’m all about stretching that dollar!  Because of the great price (next to nothing) I bought 3 identical pair of long denim jeans in the next size up from what Little One was wearing at that time.

For one pair, I cut them off at capri length and used that wonderful product I love so much…Heat N Bond…and folded up a cute little cuff! I have yet to decide what to do with the third pair.

For the second pair, I wanted to do something sweet and girlie. Something she could wear all the way into the fall. I made her some Fancy Pants!

DSCF8807

DSCF8769 DSCF8770

I used some left-over lace that I had from a past project. I think any lace or ribbon could be used for dressing up denim! This would also be great for winter pants that still fit in the waist, but not in the length!  Kids grow so fast! I love it when I can salvage clothes for the next season!

DSCF8771 DSCF8772

The first step is to lay pants out flat and even… iron if necessary.

Next, make a straight cut a little shorter than the desired length. You will have some added length from the lace.  In my case I cut 1/2 inch shorter.

DSCF8775

Measure two pieces of lace 1 inch longer than the overall measurement of your pants leg. Set lace aside for now.

DSCF8777

Zig-zag or serge around the raw edge of the denim to prevent fraying.

DSCF8790

Fold lace over 1/4 inch on both ends, iron, then stitch flat.

Starting at the inner thigh seam, pin the lace around the bottom edge of the pants leg.

DSCF8784

DSCF8778

DSCF8779

Sew the lace to the denim all the way around overlapping your ending stitches with your starting stitches 1/2 inch or so.

I Like to sew around twice, about 1/4  inch apart.

DSCF8791

DSCF8792

For the last step, sew across the ends of the lace for added security. This keeps the two lace ends neat and flat.

DSCF8786

DSCF8793

DSCF8796

DSCF8816

Now we have some “Fancy Pants” for spring!

About NANCY

I am a work at home mom. I have three great kids, Macie 18, Trent 15, and the newest addition to our family is Layna, who is a whole 6 months old! I love to stay home and take care or my kids, The Hubs and my home! I sew and craft and create to stay sane! My mind is a constant blur of a million projects!
This entry was posted in Baby, baby Clothes, Crafts, DIY, Fabric, repurposing, serging, Sewing, Tooksberry, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

