I did it!

DSCF8799

After just looking at my new serger for months without ever opening the box or turning it on, I finally did it.

DSCF8763

I turned it on…. for the first time!

I spent several hours playing with it.  Once I began to feel a little more at ease, I thought I’d try to make a simple outfit. I found a couple of $1 fat quarters from my stash.  I couldn’t possibly justify using anything more expensive on a project that could very well end up in the trash.  With that, I cut out one of the easiest patterns I have and away I went!

DSCF8797

I made a simple pillowcase romper for my little one! Though it is not perfect, it is symmetrical  and cute…. and wearable! What more could you ask for?  I am quite amazed that I made a successful outfit at the first sitting with this machine!  I am now feeling confident enough with my new skills that I cut out a dress to sew for her this morning.

I wish I had unpacked it as soon as it arrived.  I can’t believe I had been so intimidated by it’s very existence that I waited so long to use it!

Though I have loads more to learn about sewing with this machine, I think I did pretty well.  It was not as scary as I made it out to be in my mind!  I think I will make friends with my serger and we will create many more things in the future!

About NANCY

I am a work at home mom. I have three great kids, Macie 18, Trent 15, and the newest addition to our family is Layna, who is a whole 6 months old! I love to stay home and take care or my kids, The Hubs and my home! I sew and craft and create to stay sane! My mind is a constant blur of a million projects!
This entry was posted in Baby, baby Clothes, Crafts, DIY, Fabric, serging, Sewing, Tooksberry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I did it!

  1. nanacathy2 says:

    I am still more than a little scared by new sewing machine and i have had it 6 months now!

    • NANCY says:

      Along with my new serger, I bought an embroidery/sewing machine. I have been sewing 90% of my projects on an amazing 1950’s Singer belonging to my grandmother. I have other newish machines, but the 50’s singer always trumps the others. I completely understand the fear of new machines!!!! It is hard to make friends with a new machine! When my family asked how I like my fancy new computerized machine, I could only say that it was definitely smarter than me!

  2. Katie says:

    I’m in the same boat! I’ve had my serger since last May and have never even turned it in! In my defense, I didn’t have a place to set it up until about 2 weeks ago. Still…

    • NANCY says:

      I have spent more time with it this week. I am starting to get the hang of it and enjoy it a little! When you get ready to try yours out, make sure you have lots of scrap fabric! I’ve gone through a couple of yards of some of my least favorite fabrics to practice with!

Leave a Reply

