Picky Princess

Lately, the little one, now 11 months old, has become very picky in her eating. She won’t eat anything that isn’t dry. If the bite is not dry when she touches it, she immediately drops it and will not touch it, or anything else that looks like it again. This includes all veggies, meats and pasta. She went from LOVING any type of veggie, even spinach, to not wanting any!

The extent of what she WILL eat lately consists of cheerios, toast, grilled cheese, pancake, tortilla, cheese, and freeze dried fruit. She will only let me feed her yogurt, applesauce, and oatmeal. That’s it.

I even tried some different jars of baby food. Did I mention she doesn’t like meat either?

I know babies will eat when they get hungry and you should not to force them to eat, but starches and fruits do not make for a balanced diet. I had even gone as far as to smash some veggies inside the cheerio middle.  The need for veggies has forced me to get a little creative.

DSCF8064

I bought some whole wheat tortillas and started making veggie quesadillas. This, she will eat!  Sneaky little veggies in that dry toasty tortilla! Any combination of peas, carrots, tomato, green beans, squash,anything that will mash up a little.I have added different veggies and sometimes meats with the cheese.  In the meantime, I am still offering her other foods along with the quesadilla for when she decides to eat wet foods again!

I welcome any suggestions you may have for sneaking in some veggies!

***On a side note, I highly recommend one of these rounded cutters to all the moms out there!  This is such a time saver! We have used them in the kitchen for years… even my big kids use them!  I picked up this particular one  at Target for about $10. Worth every penny!

About NANCY

I am a work at home mom. I have three great kids, Macie 18, Trent 15, and the newest addition to our family is Layna, who is a whole 6 months old! I love to stay home and take care or my kids, The Hubs and my home! I sew and craft and create to stay sane! My mind is a constant blur of a million projects!
This entry was posted in Baby, feeding baby, picky eater, Tooksberry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

