Making seam ripping easier

DSCF7483

I bought some sweet little shirt and short sets at a summer clearance sale recently. They were marked down to nearly nothing. Nearly nothing meaning less than the cost of a fat quarter for both a shirt and pair shorts!!! I have no little boys anymore, but as I often do, I looked at these little sets and instantly had an idea of what to make from the fun fabrics. I will be posting on those sweet little projects later this week!

As you know, something like this requires some deconstruction…and a bit of seam ripping.

Along with my seam ripper, and all of the normal tools and gadgets for sewing, I keep a lint roller handy. It is irreplaceable to me when it comes to the task of seam ripping.

DSCF7500

I start at one side and rip for a while, sometimes for the whole project.  I rip through all of the threads until the seam is completely open. I do not stop to pull them by hand or with tweezers unless they are really in there. I use the lint roller to “pick” out all the tiny threads. At the end of the job, the mess is stuck to the sticky roller and not in a pile or on the floor!

DSCF7482

DSCF7492

You will really be surprised at just how well and how fast this works! It is a big time saver for me.

DSCF7487

I keep them handy for prepping fabric for appliques, jeweling and painting fabric too!

I do spend a little more money buying a quality roller with the tear off disposable sticky sheets. I have found they work best!

Happy crafting!

About NANCY

I am a work at home mom. I have three great kids, Macie 18, Trent 15, and the newest addition to our family is Layna, who is a whole 6 months old! I love to stay home and take care or my kids, The Hubs and my home! I sew and craft and create to stay sane! My mind is a constant blur of a million projects!
This entry was posted in Crafts, DIY, Fabric, repurposing, Sewing, sewing, Tooksberry, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Making seam ripping easier

  1. Jixi Fox says:

    I wish I had some skills like that, I need to get more handy with my hands.

Leave a Reply

