A BIG THANK YOU!

I am just a regular home sewist. I have never taken any classes or had a sewing teacher of any kind in my adult life. My grandmother taught me sewing basics.  She taught me enough to make Barbie clothes, doll clothes, easy skirts, pillows… just simple things.  She taught me how to use the machine with a straight stitch and some zig zag. Nothing fancy. However, I am forever grateful to her. It was such a priceless gift for her to give to me.

In the 7th grade, I took Home-Ec with Mrs. Fisher. One semester was cooking, one was sewing and housekeeping. I was ahead of everyone else throughout the sewing portion of the class because I had already learned everything she would teach. She taught sewing machine basics and a little bit of mending, like adding a buttons and things like that. We made a square pillow, alphabet pillows and an apron. Not anything very challenging to me. Needless to say, I aced the sewing.

After 7th grade Home-Ec, I didn’t do much sewing. I can really only remember making some simple curtains for a couple of tiny windows, a few Halloween costumes….and of course pillows.

Fast forward some years, and I am pregnant with my first-born. A daughter! I was half broke and knew we couldn’t afford the fancy crib bedding I wanted for her. I figured I had enough sewing skills to sew what I wanted for cheap, and I did. I bought some flat sheets and started sewing. It was ALL pink. Bumpers, dust ruffle, the whole nine…pink, and nice! I was even impressed!

I continued to sew little things for her and then for my son who came 3 years later. I continued to refashion and mend things to make them last longer. Pants became shorts, onesies became t-shirts, worn knees got cute patches, long sleeves became short. You know, that sort of thing. And of course costumes and dress-up clothes! I shopped yard sales and flea markets for crazy old prom dresses and other fabulous pieces to turn into fun stuff for my kids to play in. I taught myself button holes and zippers and many other things along the way. I was beginning to sew lots of things from patterns. So, I guess you could say that the patterns were really my teachers! I began to do pretty good by this time, though I made quite a few disasters!

Here are a few things I have done over the years.

Along the way I made a few dresses, button ups for the little man, specialty maternity dresses, drill team and cheerleading uniforms, numerous prom dresses and brides maid dresses and I’ve sewn on millions of beads. There has also been lots of bedding…and pillows, too. I’ve even done 3 simple quilts.

Now, I sew nearly everything for my Little One. Other than PJ’s and some pants, it is all made by me. If I can sew it, I do.

Because it is National Sewing Month, I’d like to say THANK YOU.

First, to that time zapper, Pinterest, where I found some creative inspiration to sew again…And most importantly, to the entire sewing community I found through Pinterest.

I feel a little intimidated, impressed, wowed, envious, amazed (and a whole bunch of other words I can’t think of now) of so many of you sewing blogists out there! I see the clothes you make for yourselves…wow…The techniques and tricks you do. I feel a little simple compared to what some of you can do! I am still amazed when I learn that there is a real technical term for something I’ve been doing all along! Like French seams… been sewing them for years… just learned recently they have a name! Who knew?

I have learned lots of new things and fine-tuned many of my old techniques. All of this new knowledge is credited to everyone who puts tutorials out there!

As much sewing as I have done, I am so happy that I can sit down at
this computer and learn something new, or re-learn something old.  Thank you to the sewing blog community for posting about everything, including the diasters! 

I still really hope to learn to crochet or knit some day… maybe I’ll be able to learn online! 🙂

About NANCY

I am a work at home mom. I have three great kids, Macie 18, Trent 15, and the newest addition to our family is Layna, who is a whole 6 months old! I love to stay home and take care or my kids, The Hubs and my home! I sew and craft and create to stay sane! My mind is a constant blur of a million projects!
This entry was posted in baby Clothes, cheer/dance uniforms, costumes, prom dresses, repurposing, Sewing, Tooksberry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

