Covered button safety for babies

image

I have to say, there is something special about a covered button on an outfit. Especially when it’s in a contrasting fabric.

A few weeks back, I made a peasant dress for Little One.  I gave it a gathered high waistline and wanted to embellish it with some contrasting covered buttons. I went through the normal steps to make the buttons and attached them. I ALWAYS give any buttons and embellishments a few good tugs on any baby things. I am extra cautious on making sure they can’t pull them off and choke. As I was giving the tug test, two of the buttons came apart. I thought, no way I am using ANY covered buttons on baby clothes again!!! I found some sturdy plastic ones and finished the dress.

Fast forward a couple of weeks to today. I made LO a peasant romper this morning. I thought, what a shame, this would be so cute with covered buttons.  I brainstormed for a while and came up with a solution to make them safe.

I thought I’d give a complete tutorial on the whole process! Here goes!

Get your covered button kit and a small scrap of fabric.

image

Place the fabric on top of the open side of the rubber holder, then put the button front on top, with smooth side down.

image

Put the pusher that came with your kit inside the button front,  open side down. Don’t use your finger. These edges are sharp! I learned that the hard way!…duh
Press down on the pusher with your thumb until the button top is completely in the form.

image

Check that your fabric is even all the way around.  I needs to be out about the same amount all the way around so you can trim it straight. If it is too short in one spot, there will not be enough to tuck inside the button. If it isn’t quite right,  pull everything out and start over until your fabric is even.

image

Trim the excess fabric away. I usually leave about 1/3 inch.

image

Tuck the fabric in the holder. Make sure it is even and neat.

If it isn’t smooth and even, it could be lumpy on the outside of your finished button.

image

Now it’s time to baby proof!!!!

image

Get your hot glue gun ready! I figured hot glue would be perfect here! Unlike other glues, hot glue does not require air to set. You can be sure it will harden and keep things together.

Apply a bit of glue in center of the button front.

WORK FAST HERE! You must complete this next step quickly! If the glue hardens too soon, the button will never snap together.

Put the button back and the pusher on the top of the holder and press it all together. 

image

image

Pop the button out and give it a good tug! That baby is not coming apart! Yay!

image

Another new outfit!

image

About NANCY

I am a work at home mom. I have three great kids, Macie 18, Trent 15, and the newest addition to our family is Layna, who is a whole 6 months old! I love to stay home and take care or my kids, The Hubs and my home! I sew and craft and create to stay sane! My mind is a constant blur of a million projects!
This entry was posted in Baby, baby Clothes, baby proofing, covered buttons, DIY, fabric, glue gun, Sewing, Tooksberry, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Covered button safety for babies

  1. Ah the hot glue gun! Why didn’t I think of that?! 🙂

Leave a Reply

