Making pillows on the cheap

image

Pillows are expensive to buy. They can be expensive to make too. Fabric, pillow forms, stuffing, embellishments, it adds up quick.  This would be a completely different post if I only ever wanted just one pillow, but I only ever want 4 or 5.  I figured out how to make them for a whole lot less.
We are always buying new bed pillows. I used to throw them out, now I save them all. Bed pillows, accent pillows… all of them. I save them to use for the stuffing in my new pillows. By re-using the stuffing I cut my pillow making cost down low! Now I can afford to change out my accent pillows whenever I want!

This is great for the dogs bed too!

I wash and dry them before starting!

image

image

I just make up a few new pillows,

image

and cut open a few old ones,

image

and start stuffing!

image

If you open one and it is compacted tight from being washed, just pull it in little puffs.

image

image

image

image

It will fluff right up! Stuff away!

image

New pillows for the cost of fabric only!

image

And some older pillows that needed more stuffing!
I like it when I can reuse something, but I like saving money more!

About NANCY

I am a work at home mom. I have three great kids, Macie 18, Trent 15, and the newest addition to our family is Layna, who is a whole 6 months old! I love to stay home and take care or my kids, The Hubs and my home! I sew and craft and create to stay sane! My mind is a constant blur of a million projects!
This entry was posted in Crafts, decorating, DIY, Fabric, fabric, recycling, repurposing, Sewing, sewing, throw pillows, Tooksberry, Tutorials, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Making pillows on the cheap

  1. CurlsnSkirls says:

    Sometimes I’ll throw a tennis ball into the drier along with the pillows to keep them fluffed. Seems to work well!

Leave a Reply

