Fabric buying quirks….

I did it! I went fabric shopping today! I ADORE fabric stores. I spend hours…yes that’s multiple hours every time. Fabric shopping for me can be an all day affair. Sometimes I go to all three stores in the same day….happiness!!! I live 45 miles from the stores, so you can bet that I will take my time when I get there, after all, there is no running right back because you forgot something!

I get a little crazy at the cutting table. There is something I don’t understand. I see people getting a quarter or a third of a yard cut. I look at them and think…wow,  you must REALLY be good at sewing! Sewing envy? Maybe. Probably!

I don’t trust myself that much! I am so afraid of making a mistake I always get more than I need, and I never get less than a yard of anything….ever!  I know it will be used for something at some point… and it saves me the long trip if I flub up the project.

When I get to the table, I always have all of my bolts in order as to how much I want from each one. I totally get frustrated when the line is held up by someone who decided to wait to plan their projects at the cutting table! I experienced that this trip. UGH… I don’t know if it is more the frustration of the person holding up the line or my excitement to take my fabrics home to get started! Is there anyone else out there who has any fabric store quirks or am I the only crazy one out there?

About NANCY

I am a work at home mom. I have three great kids, Macie 18, Trent 15, and the newest addition to our family is Layna, who is a whole 6 months old! I love to stay home and take care or my kids, The Hubs and my home! I sew and craft and create to stay sane! My mind is a constant blur of a million projects!
This entry was posted in Crafts, Fabric, sewing, Tooksberry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fabric buying quirks….

  1. nanacathy2 says:

    I am right with you. I love my fabric shopping trips- 17 miles for my nearest stores. (2) Anyway I go armed with what I want- OK so far. Then I find things in the remnant basket- and then I spot other fabrics which I must have just in case… that’s where the fat quarters come in!

  2. salpal1 says:

    I once had a part time job in a fabric store – very expensive job!!! Had to quit as I couldn’t afford to work there. 🙂 But I still have lots and lots of nice fabric!!

  3. Jennie says:

    I LOVE walking around fabric stores! and I rarely only get one yard….usually between 3 and 5, but definitely no less than 1!

  4. newnormal says:

    Thanks for the like. I love the fabric in the top picture!

Leave a Reply

