How soon is too soon? Help!

No sewing going on here today. 😦 My little one is 7 months old now and crawling is right around the corner. I am envisioning mouthfuls of stray thread clippings or an accidentally dropped pin in my little one’s hand!!!! We are in baby proofing mode. My sewing “room” was in a 10×10 nook in our den. It was perfect. Everything right there, cutting/work table, two sewing machines and supply closet. All within rolling chair distance of one another. I have really been fretting over all of this for a while now. I really liked my sewing nook. It was right in the middle of the action. Family watching tv or whatever else and me sewing … we are all right there together. I will be sad to miss the family time mixed with sewing time. Now I will just have to stay up a little later to do what I need to do. The second part to my dilemma:
Where to put my sewing “room?” The logical thought would be to put it in my oldest daughters room. She is away at college. The room is big enough to accommodate both sewing room and guest room. So, I ask you, how soon is too soon to “move in” to her room? How long should her room stay as it is? Or should it become a guest-type room with only the closet filled with her clothes and other things she left at home? A fifth bedroom would solve all of this…ha! Not gonna happen! I am really torn. My first priority is to completely baby proof the den to be a totally safe play zone for the little one. I am a cluttered and messy sewist, so staying in the den is not an option. Not using M’s room means setting up in the dining area. There is plenty of room and it is rarely used. The problem with it is that we have an open concept home and the kitchen, formal living and dining room are all one. This makes my mess/work visible to all who visit. Blehhhhh… This is not the favorable choice. Using Macie’s room may make her feel booted out. A really big part of me hopes for her to get a fabulous job right off and not ever need to live back at home. She only spends a couple of nights a month with us, but I want to make sure she still feels at home. Using her room would be best because the door can be closed and the mess can be tucked away. My supplies are boxed ready for a move… but to where? Any suggestions?

About NANCY

I am a work at home mom. I have three great kids, Macie 18, Trent 15, and the newest addition to our family is Layna, who is a whole 6 months old! I love to stay home and take care or my kids, The Hubs and my home! I sew and craft and create to stay sane! My mind is a constant blur of a million projects!
This entry was posted in Sewing, Tooksberry, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How soon is too soon? Help!

  1. Danielle says:

    At least she will have a room! As a renter, my mum moved to a smaller cheaper home when me and the brother moved out, right after I finished uni. That left us with a sofa bed on return visits! My nephew and dog made it still feel like home though 🙂

  2. noriecreates says:

    I totally understand your dilemna. My daughter moved back home twice! I think you should let your daughter know what you’re planning for the space and your reasons but also let her know that she will always be welcomed back home.

  3. salpal1 says:

    I think all you have to do is talk to her about your dilemma the next time she is home (so you can see her face) If you make a good effort to make the room still be hers when she is there, then I bet it is OK.
    I remember how I felt when Dad gave my room to my little brother – after I had moved out – doesn’t make sense, but I didn’t like it. Talking about it first would have helped.

Leave a Reply

