Fall wardrobe

The Hubs mentioned that a cool front was coming, it’s not what you might be thinking. I’m from Texas. It doesn’t necessarily mean break out the jackets. In this case it means we get a week or so of relief. We are used to 100 degree temps. Yesterday it was 105, the day before 104. Today, the front is here. The high is 91. Yup, this is our cool front! No complaints here though, it is actually bearable outside!

Like our cool fronts, our falls aren’t terribly cool either. Some days, it makes sense to wear shorts and a sweatshirt…..as an outfit. You need the sweatshirt or super light jacket in the morning, but by midday, a t-shirt is perfect. You are sweating. My mother had a rule for fall dressing when we were little … long pants or long sleeves. I guess she figured somehow we’d be warm enough or cool enough not to complain! I have kinda stuck with this rule with my own kids.

I had to stop all of my other projects to get Little One some fall outfits made! I stumbled on to about 10 pair of last seasons pants in my shopping. They were all priced great… between $1.50 and $2.50. The problem was that most of them were too big. They had wide legs. Too wide to be cute. I decide to buy them all and cut them down into leggings.

This pic is the pants before, and the width difference between the wide pants and some leggings I got on sale. It really doesn’t look like much, but they really look super big on.

 

The first thing I did is to turn them inside out and rip the seam from the hem about halfway around the bottom of the leg.

Next mark the outline of the leggings onto the wide pants and pin.

Stitch starting from the waistband to the hem on both legs and cut away the extra leaving about 1/3 inch. Since this is a knit, there is no need to finish these seams. They will not ravel or fray.

Next, pin the hem and stitch it up!

All done and cute!

After getting the pants all finished, it was time to tackle some tops!  I lucked out on some fabrics for $2.50 a yard! I love a good deal like that! I bought a ton of one yard pieces just for some tops for Little One! I made several variations of peasant tops for her. They are so easy and simple….and they take about 1/2 yard for her size! All in all, I spent less than $5 per outfit!

One Happy Mama!

I do love the polka dots!

My crazy son thinks I did a good job!

And the model!

About NANCY

I am a work at home mom. I have three great kids, Macie 18, Trent 15, and the newest addition to our family is Layna, who is a whole 6 months old! I love to stay home and take care or my kids, The Hubs and my home! I sew and craft and create to stay sane! My mind is a constant blur of a million projects!
This entry was posted in Baby, Crafts, DIY, Fabric, Sewing, Sewing Patterns, Tooksberry, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fall wardrobe

  1. SUPERRRRRRRRRRR cute!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

