Is it measure once cut twice?

No, actually it is measure twice, cut once. For some reason that knowledge has passed me by on this one. I started this project weeks ago. It did not go so well.  Prior to this, I sailed through making a new pattern for my first style of romper. http://wp.me/p2EpZe-C The purple romper. Made another after that… adorable. Then I decided to make another pattern, slightly different,  for some variety in Little Ones fall wardrobe.


I wanted a peasant top romper. Easy on, easy off. I drew up the pattern got out some of my less favorite fabric and cut away. I always use fabrics that are not my faves to test on. Then I don’t feel quite so bad if it doesn’t work out. The romper came out ok. The sleeves were super cute! It needed some tweaking,  but it was a finished, wearable garment.

This is where the problems began.
I decided that I wanted just a simple round crotch instead of the experimental triangular one. I also decided that it was much too long, and I thought the first sleeves were already perfect, so I would do this one with a little flutter-type sleeve. Again, I needed more variety.

I recut the pattern with the new crotch design, and measured for the new length.  I cut everything out of a sweet new fabric. Ready, set, go, right? What I failed to do was to add hem allowance. I cut the pattern for the exact finished length. ugh….

I was not aware of this problem yet, as I was about to have an all-out battle with working in the new sleeves. In hindsight, the sleeves were really not to blame, though they did receive many curses and scowls. It was my wanting to use a lining at the top. Common sense should have told me at this point to use bias tape on the arm holes……uh uh. Not me. Common sense did not happen and I proceeded to use a lining at the top. Needless to say. It was a battle. It took a couple of hours, but I managed to get the lining in.  I don’t know why I hate using bias tape so much.  It would have probably only taken me 30 minutes or so to do the sleeves if I had. sigh….

I made the romper not knowing about the length issue until I was ready to hem.

I looked at the almost finished romper and realized it looked way too short as it was, much less with a hem! Cutting it off to make shorts would have been ok a couple of months ago, but now we need pants. I didn’t really know what to do with it at this point. Frustrated, I did what anyone else might do in this situation… I put it to the side to finish later.

Well, later came yesterday as I was cleaning up my messy table. I decided to add a simple ruffle to the bottom. This should be easy enough to get through without any cursing. Problem solved right? Not so much. as I was getting ready to sew on the ruffle, I realized I had not cut them long enough to be any kind of ruffle. Why is it that some projects seem ill-fated from the get-go? Not wanting to piece any fabric together, I decided to add a cuff with a little elastic inside instead.

Done. Feeling accomplished and proud!!!!

Next was the big finale…snaps. It should all be downhill from here!!! Yay! I was excited to finally be finished with this project. I worked diligently, marked all of my spots, double checked the marks and put the snaps on. Yes, I got all of the snaps on, and in perfect alignment. The problem here? I put them on in the wrong direction.  All 14 of them.  It snaps up on the outside of the suit instead of the inside.

Determined to finish this outfit. I removed and reset the snaps.

Finally… a finished project! Cute and it fits great. Maybe I’ll post a pic when my sweet little model wakes up!

I wanted variety with this pattern, and I think I got it!

About NANCY

I am a work at home mom. I have three great kids, Macie 18, Trent 15, and the newest addition to our family is Layna, who is a whole 6 months old! I love to stay home and take care or my kids, The Hubs and my home! I sew and craft and create to stay sane! My mind is a constant blur of a million projects!
This entry was posted in Baby, Crafts, DIY, Fabric, Sewing, Sewing Patterns, Tooksberry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is it measure once cut twice?

  1. nanacathy2 says:

    MMMm- what good advice- I charge into projects without reading things properly, miss out a line and end up wasting so much time. Congrats on keeping going and making this lovely garment!

Leave a Reply

