The “no cake” cake

image

Stress, PMS, pity parties, etc… I crave cake. I always have, since I can remember.  Cake has been the only fix for me. I really needed cake today. I have been working hard perfecting some patterns for my Etsy shop and NEEDED cake.
Through my teens and twenties, I would bake a cake to soothe me through the rough patches. After all,  cake makes everyone better right? At some point in my early thirties I knew I needed to cut back on the goodies, and I panicked a little … no, a lot. No sweets meant no fix it cake. Whatever was I to do? Take up exercise?  Drinking? Puzzle books? Hypnosis?  Sky diving? Cleaning? NNNNOOOOOOOOOO!
It seemed there was no substitution for my fix.
It became clear that I needed to make a sacrifice. Was it the actual cake or the icing that was the true cure? For the very next poor me pity party PMS stress event I had, I made a whole cake, as usual, but left off the icing. It became very clear, very fast that the plain cake would just not do. It had to be the icing.
From that moment on, I began keeping a container of icing in the fridge.  For the times when I need “cake” I get one nice spoonful. No double dipping required. One spoonful does it!  It calms the girl beast inside me and spares me lots of cake and calories! 🙂 I usually keep chocolate fudge flavor. When it is cold, it reminds me a little of Christmas fudge! Yum! “Cake” for everyone!  My daughter now participates in the icing stash too!

About NANCY

I am a work at home mom. I have three great kids, Macie 18, Trent 15, and the newest addition to our family is Layna, who is a whole 6 months old! I love to stay home and take care or my kids, The Hubs and my home! I sew and craft and create to stay sane! My mind is a constant blur of a million projects!
This entry was posted in Tooksberry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

