Lunchtime woes

image

I first have to tell you that this is the lunch of my 15 year old son. It is identical to the one the hubs will take tomorrow. I also have to tell you that my college student daughter is sad because I will no longer be packing her lunch each day. I have been making lunches for them since day one. No two days alike. I think it is wonderful. It is far less expensive than what they would get at school and they will actually eat this…. double score!!!!! The first few years of lunch making were problem free, aside from any strange requests. The problems came when my son started school. Kindergarten year, I purchased a total of 5 lunch boxes, and too many blue ice packs to count. Something had to give. This is when I started using brown bags, ziplocks or recycled grocery bags. This worked great except I was still buying blue ice by the handfuls. Another problem I was having, as they got older, is they would drink up, and share, the juice boxes that were intended for lunches. Not a happy mom at lunch making time. Sometimes the punishment for this was having to eat school lunch! Now nobody is happy. I then realized they can’t drink them if they are frozen!

image

Lightbulb moment!!!!! Frozen drink boxes make excellent blue ice substitute! They keep the lunch cool and they are thawed enough to drink by lunch time! And…. there is NOTHING to bring home! To this day I still put a frozen drink box of some sort in each day. I even put one in the lunches I make for the hubs! Through trial and error, I have discovered that the only ones that DO NOT work are the ones that look like a little plastic barrel with a foil top seal. These expand too much and leak everywhere! The foil pouch and the cardboard box type work best!

About NANCY

I am a work at home mom. I have three great kids, Macie 18, Trent 15, and the newest addition to our family is Layna, who is a whole 6 months old! I love to stay home and take care or my kids, The Hubs and my home! I sew and craft and create to stay sane! My mind is a constant blur of a million projects!
This entry was posted in Tooksberry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lunchtime woes

  1. Jennie says:

    genius! I’ll have to remember this for that point somewhere in the future when I’m making lunches for my own kids!

Leave a Reply

