DORM ROOMMATE GIFT

This is yet another thing I have been putting off till the last minute… a “hello roomie!” gift for my daughter’s dorm roommate. I just made this tonite and thought I’d make a tutorial on the whole process. This is very simple and would be great for beginners! This took about an hour from start to finish and It was essentially free because I had all of the supplies on hand, including the gift bag supplies! Yay! I love projects like that!

SUPPLIES:

2 equal fabric squares (mine were 12 1/2 X 14 1/2 for a finished product of about 12 X 14)

Sequin fabric scrap

Applique pattern

Regular sewing supplies

Pressing cloth /iron/ironing board

Heat n  bond, medium weight ( it makes an iron on applique with no stitching required. I only use this no-sew type on things that will not be washed regularly)

GETTING STARTED:

I googled images for the letter S, found one I liked, copied and pasted to Microsoft Word, resized it and printed it!

Cut out your applique pattern.

Cut a piece of Heat n bond in a square slightly larger than your applique pattern.

Note: If you are using a sequin fabric like this, ALWAYS use a pressing cloth or scrap of white fabric over the top of the applique. I use a very thin piece of white cotton fabric that I can see through a little to know where my applique is! The sequins will melt and stick to your iron! You can see sequins from past projects stuck to my cloth!!!

Iron the WRONG side of the scrap fabric to the sticky side of the Heat n bond following the package directions. Let it cool COMPLETELY before you move it. I have wrinkled and ruined a few things by not taking the time to let it cool.

Trace applique on your scrap fabric. You can use chalk, pencil, or whatever you like to trace. I used a silver sharpie on this particular fabric so it would show up.

Cut it out being careful to stay on the inside of your marks so they don’t show.

Put it to the side for now.

PILLOW CONSTRUCTION

Sew around the edge of the pillow. I left about 1/4 inch seam allowance. I like to sew around pillows twice to give them a little added strength. Be sure to leave a gap unsewn to stuff the pillow.  I leave just enough to get my hand inside.

Trim the corners. Turn the pillow right side out, press.

Before you iron on your applique, it is recommended to do a test piece before to be sure of how your fabrics will bond and to know if the recommended time should be altered! Don’t forget the pressing cloth.

If the test piece was successful, continue on!

Decide where you want the applique. Peel off the paper backing and iron it using the same package directions as before.

Let it cool completely.

Stuff the pillow.

To get the stuffing even and not lumpy and to get the corners full, use a poker of some sort to disburse the stuffing.  I use a bamboo skewer. As you can tell, it has been the victim of many of my craft projects over the past 10 or so years. I guess I’ll replace it if it ever breaks! Be very careful when poking through the stuffing and don’t use the sharp end, you could poke through your fabric!

Once your pillow is full and even, it’s time to close the stuffing gap.  You can pin this and stitch the very edge with your machine or hand sew it closed.

Add a gift bag to match!

Done!

About NANCY

I am a work at home mom. I have three great kids, Macie 18, Trent 15, and the newest addition to our family is Layna, who is a whole 6 months old! I love to stay home and take care or my kids, The Hubs and my home! I sew and craft and create to stay sane! My mind is a constant blur of a million projects!
This entry was posted in DIY, DORM, Gifts, Sewing, Tooksberry, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DORM ROOMMATE GIFT

Leave a Reply

