SEWING KIT

With my daughter moving out and into a dorm, I have spent the last two months thinking about every little thing she might need. We have looked at all of the “dorm room needs” checklists on Pinterest… yes, all of them…. and I mean all of them. We even picked one up from Bed, Bath and Beyond.  Most of them had lots of useful items, but many had things that were just unnecessary. One item that was common on all of the checklists was a sewing kit. This is something I hadn’t thought of BEFORE reading all of the lists.

Sure, I could have bought one, but where’s the fun in that? I gathered some fun fabric and got busy!

I filled it with needles, thread, buttons, velcro, safety pins, stick pins, scissors, a seam ripper and some other things she may need! Maybe she will actually use it!

About NANCY

I am a work at home mom. I have three great kids, Macie 18, Trent 15, and the newest addition to our family is Layna, who is a whole 6 months old! I love to stay home and take care or my kids, The Hubs and my home! I sew and craft and create to stay sane! My mind is a constant blur of a million projects!
This entry was posted in DIY, DORM, Gifts, Sewing, Tooksberry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to SEWING KIT

  1. That is super cute! And clever and handy! Your daughter will probably be stitching up rips and sewing on buttons for all her new friends! 🙂

  2. nanacathy2 says:

    Good idea. I have boys and what really amazed me was that they brought their girlfriends mending to me to do!

  3. What an excellent idea Nancy! I’m always stuck on the road due to really bad traffic in Jakarta. Think I will throw together some pieces of fabric and make myself a sewing kit so I can create on the road!

    Thanks for the inspiration and visiting my blog! 🙂

    Cheers!
    Nasyitah
    http://www.coloursofthedomesticgoddess.wordpress.com

  4. Reblogged this on Colours Of The Domestic Goddess and commented:
    Saw this great idea of a on-the-road sewing kit. This is definitely the next project the DGW must embark on for herself! And now she will fear Jakarta traffic and flight delays no more for there’s plenty to be done while waiting.

    Many thanks Nancy! ;D

Leave a Reply

