IRONING – How to do it less #1

Ironing… what can I say about ironing?!? I hate it. Not the ironing that goes along with sewing. I really like that kind. It’s the kind that comes after doing laundry.  I am not too good at that kind.

My mother never really taught me how to iron. She rarely bought things that really needed to be pressed. If they did need it, they usually just didn’t get worn very often or at all.

My Grandmother,  the woman I owe many of my skills to, including sewing, taught me how to iron for sewing.  I am forever grateful for that among many other things she shared with me.

Over the years, because of my inept skills at the ironing board, I have come up with some things that make my laundry life a little easier. I try to take most of the “ironing” out of ironing.

Ruffled clothes are the worst. This is straight from the dryer…ugh.

This is the solution to the ruffle wrinkle problem. I know my spray bottle is not pretty, but I like to reuse.  This repurposed windex bottle is filled with plain water. I got this idea many years ago when I first saw the commercial for the wrinkle release product.  The commercial said “just spray and shape,” so I did…with water and it worked on many things!

Lightly Spray it…shape it…hang it to dry

Done! No iron! 3 minutes tops!

If you thinks that’s impressive, look at this one

Straight from the dryer.

As you can see on this pic, the right side is done.

The front, in progress.

The only thing that had to be ironed on this on was the straps.

Done. Again, less than 5 minutes. Hang to dry!

One more!

Before…

After!  One added benefit to this method, The ruffles stay fluffy and rounded, not flat like when you iron them!

I hope this tip helps someone spend a little less time at the ironing board.

I welcome any shortcuts anyone else might have!

About NANCY

I am a work at home mom. I have three great kids, Macie 18, Trent 15, and the newest addition to our family is Layna, who is a whole 6 months old! I love to stay home and take care or my kids, The Hubs and my home! I sew and craft and create to stay sane! My mind is a constant blur of a million projects!
This entry was posted in Baby, Laundry, Sewing, Tooksberry, Tutorials and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

