BUBBLE SUIT TO TOP TUTORIAL

Cleaning out the little one’s closet has led me to many outfits that I so loved on her.  You know, the ones that make you melt a little inside each time you see it on them? Those outfits. The ones that they’ve outgrown, never to wear again. These clothes make me a little sad, no, a lot sad.

Tear no more… some of them can be changed to wear again!

This sweet little bubble suit is a 9 month, but has been too short for my very long 6 month old for a while now.

Most baby clothes seem to be very close in  size width-wise. The huge size difference is in the length. I have found that many infant outfits can sometimes be carried over  a couple of sizes up as a shirt paired with pants or shorts. Of course, this all depends on the actual garments and the babies! Some may need just a little tweaking to make the transition. Bubble suits almost always make for a great refashion to, at the very least, the next size bracket. Most will work as tops for quite a while.

The first step is to cut as close to the elastic as possible to keep as much of the length as you can. Don’t worry about the weird edge.  Press the garment flat.

The next step is to cut the edge straight taking off as little as possible.

Finish the edge with a tiny hem.

DONE!

15 minute project=money saved

This top should now fit for several months with shorts or pants. If, and when it gets too short, I’ll add a ruffle or some lace! I’m so happy to see my little one in this favorite outfit again!

About NANCY

I am a work at home mom. I have three great kids, Macie 18, Trent 15, and the newest addition to our family is Layna, who is a whole 6 months old! I love to stay home and take care or my kids, The Hubs and my home! I sew and craft and create to stay sane! My mind is a constant blur of a million projects!
This entry was posted in Baby, Sewing, Tooksberry, Tutorials and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

